Clayton Oliver has soared to the top of the leaderboard for the AFLCA Player of the Year Award.

The midfielder received nine votes after a dominant display in Melbourne’s Round 20 win over the Suns, where he registered 35 disposals, 12 clearances and one goal.

The votes bring Oliver’s total to 101, pushing him seven votes clear of Bulldogs' midfielder Marcus Bontempelli, who currently sits in second place one the leaderboard. 

Christian Petracca received equal top votes for his 32-disposal game.

Three Melbourne players rounded out the list of vote-getters, with Max Gawn (six votes), Luke Jackson (three votes) and Jake Lever (three votes) all being recognised.

Petracca and Gawn join Oliver in the top ten, with a total of 66 and 61 votes, respectively.

Round 20: Gold Coast v Melbourne

9 Christian Petracca (MELB)

9 Clayton Oliver (MELB)

6 Max Gawn (MELB)

3 Luke Jackson (MELB)

3 Jake Lever (MELB)


101 Clayton Oliver (MELB)

94 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)

90 Samuel Walsh (CARL)

89 Ollie Wines (PORT)

85 Touk Miller (GCFC)

79 Jack Steel (STK)

77 Zach Merrett (ESS)

70 Darcy Parish (ESS)

66 Christian Petracca (MELB)

61 Max Gawn (MELB)