MAX GAWN, Steven May and Christian Petracca have all been nominated for the 2020 AFL Players’ Association’s Most Valuable Player Award.

The Demon trio were selected by their teammates for the prestigious honour, which recognises the best performer across the league, according to the players.

In his first season as captain, Gawn has once again been a strong and reliable contributor for the Dees.

His work around the ground has seen him rack up 432 hit outs to date, while he’s averaged 15.8 disposals at 68 percent efficiency.

The 28-year-old has missed three games to injury, but his leadership has shone through, both on and off the field.

May has been just as influential for the Dees.

The strong-bodied defender has been rock-solid down back, providing some much-needed stability and composure in his second year at Melbourne.

He has averaged 15.7 disposals at 80 percent efficiency so far in 2020 and has been among the Demons’ best most weeks.

Equally as impressive has been Petracca, who is having a dominant season in the red and blue.

Developing as a midfield-forward, the 24-year-old has averaged 23.6 disposals and registered 207 contested possessions – second in the league to teammate Clayton Oliver.

His power and poise has seen him have a hand in the majority of Melbourne’s wins, while his 102 score involvements have certainly come in handy this season.

Jack Viney has also been recognised for his efforts this year, being selected as the Demons’ Most Courageous player.

The 26-year-old’s hard-at-it attitude has seen him set the example in 2020, leading from the front with his ferocity, and providing plenty of spark in the contest.

Draftee Luke Jackson joins Viney in those earning nominations, chosen as Melbourne’s Best First-Year player.

The No.3 draft pick has played six games since pulling on the Melbourne guernsey in Round 2, while his standout performance in Round 10 earned him a NAB Rising Star Nomination.

Gawn rounds out Melbourne’s candidates for the AFLPA’s honours, also automatically qualifying for the Best Captain Award.

Voting for the MVP Award is a two-stage process, with players nominating three teammates in stage one before three nominees from each club are presented to the wider competition in stage two.

Players cannot vote for their teammates in the second stage of the voting process.

The AFL Players’ Association will award the winners next week, with a special roll out of digital content.

Melbourne’s AFLPA Award nominees:

MVP: Max Gawn, Steven May, Christian Petracca

Most Courageous: Jack Viney

Best First-Year player: Luke Jackson

Best Captain: Max Gawn