Christian Petracca has won his first club ambassador award – the Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy – at this year’s Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy dinner.

An enthusiastic participant in the Club’s community programs, Petracca was a standout for the award which has previously been taken home by Neville Jetta.   

The 22-year old finished 15th in the overall best and fairest count, with 268 votes after playing all 24 games in 2018.

Ruckman Max Gawn, who won this year’s Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy, claimed the leadership award – the Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy.

Gawn had a magnificent season, winning the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year award and gaining his second All-Australian.

Forward Alex Neal-Bullen received the coaches award – the Norm Smith Memorial Trophy.

The 22-year-old had his best season with Melbourne, playing every game for the Demons.

Bayley Fritsch, who played 23 of 25 matches in his first AFL-listed season, won the Harold Ball Memorial Trophy for the club’s best young player.

Fritsch was recruited from Casey Demons at No.31 in last year’s NAB AFL Draft.

And Cam Pedersen, who has finished with the club, after 80 AFL games, including 64 with the Demons, won the Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy for the best Melbourne-listed player with Casey. 

Pedersen had an outstanding year in the VFL, claiming 11 votes in the JJ Liston Trophy.

Melbourne award winners at the best and fairest

Neville Jetta: James McDonald Trophy

The Esprit De Corps Player Award was awarded for sacrificing self for the greater good of the team.

Named after former skipper James McDonald who played 251 games between 1997 and 2010.

Cameron Pedersen: Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy

Awarded for the most votes attained by a Melbourne-listed player in the Casey Demons Best and Fairest.

The award is named in honour of Troy Broadbridge, who played 40 games for Melbourne between 1999-2004. He tragically lost his life during the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami in Thailand.

Alex Neal-Bullen: Norm Smith Memorial Trophy

The Best & Fairest Coaches Award presented for representing the qualities of work ethic and preparation.

Named after VFL/AFL team of the century coach, Norm Smith. Smith played in three Melbourne premierships (1939-41), before coaching the club to six flags (1955-57, 1959-60 and 1964). A legend of the game.

Max Gawn: Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy

The Leadership Award is presented to the player who sacrifices self for the good of the team.

Named after one of the game’s greatest figures, Ron Barassi Jnr. Barassi played in six Melbourne premierships (1955-56-57, 1959-60 and 1964) and was regarded as one of the greatest and most determined players to play the game.

Bayley Fritsch: Harold Ball Memorial Trophy

The Harold Ball Memorial Trophy is awarded to Melbourne’s best young player.

The trophy is named in honour of Harold Ball. Ball played in Melbourne’s 1939-40 premierships, before losing his life during World War II. In his first year, he was named Melbourne’s best first year player. The award was named in his honour in 1946.

Christian Petracca: Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy

The club’s ambassador award, which is given to a player for their work in the community.

Named after five-time premiership player Ian Ridley (1955-57 and 1959-60). A tenacious rover, Ridley was regarded as one of the best players of his era. He later coached the club and became president.