MELBOURNE’S Christian Petracca has finished in the top four of the AFL Coaches Association’s Champion Player of the Year Award.

The Demon was 11 votes shy of taking out the top award, finishing fourth on 98 votes behind Nick Daicos (99 votes), Marcus Bontempelli (102) and Zak Butters (109).

Petracca polled votes in 18 of a possible 23 matches, including three perfect scores during Rounds 7, 9 and 12 where both coaches deemed the Demon best afield with five votes apiece. 

The powerful utility has been vital for Melbourne in 2023, using his strength at the contest and silky skills across both the forward line and midfield.

Currently averaging 27.9 disposals and 8.6 score involvements, Petracca's talents have helped inspire his team to their third finals berth in three years. 

The AFLCA award has been handed out since 2003, with coaches from both sides casting their votes after each home-and-away game in a 5-4-3-2-1 format.


109 - Zak Butters
102 - Marcus Bontempelli
99 - Nick Daicos
98 - Christian Petracca 
91 - Lachie Neale
88 - Errol Gulden 
87 - Connor Rozee