CLAYTON Oliver has extended his lead at the top of the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Award, polling near-perfect votes in Round 11.

The Melbourne midfielder was deemed equal-best alongside captain Max Gawn on Friday night, each receiving nine votes for their performances against the Western Bulldogs.

Oliver recorded 33 disposals, 12 of which were contested, eight score involvements and five clearances. He also managed five tackles in the Demons’ 28-point win.

Gawn, who finished with 27 hit-outs and 21 disposals, was just as influential around the ground.

The ruckman had 13 contested possessions, six score involvements, five clearances and four tackles of his own, continuing his strong form in season 2021.

Oliver (61 votes) now sits eleven votes ahead of the Western Bulldogs’ Marcus Bontempelli and Brisbane’s Hugh McCluggage, while Gawn is currently in ninth place (43 votes).

Four other Demons were recognised for their efforts at Marvel Stadium, including James Harmes and Jake Lever, who each receive four votes for executing their roles.

Christian Petracca (three votes) and Tom McDonald (one vote) rounded out the top performers, with 24 disposals and three goals, respectively.  


9 – Clayton Oliver

9 – Max Gawn

4 – James Harmes

4 – Jake Lever

3 – Christian Petracca

1 – Tom McDonald (MELB)


61 – Clayton Oliver (MELB)

50 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)

50 – Hugh McCluggage (BL)

47 – Touk Miller (GCFC)

47 – Darcy Parish (ESS)

46 – Ollie Wines (PORT)

45 – Zach Merrett (ESS)

44 – Samuel Walsh (CARL)

43 – Max Gawn (MELB)

39 – David Mundy (FRE)