MAX Gawn has won two awards at Melbourne’s best and fairest count on Tuesday night at Crown Palladium.

Gawn received the Norm Smith Memorial Trophy (Coaches Award) and the James McDonald Trophy (Heart and Spirit Award).

It has been an outstanding season for Gawn, who gained All-Australian selection last week.

The big man is now widely regarded as the best ruckman in the competition.

Tough-nut Jack Viney, whose leadership continued to grow in 2016, was rewarded with the Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy (Leadership Award). 

Dashing half-back Jayden Hunt took out the Harold Ball Memorial Trophy (Best Young Player) after a fine season.

Although it was his third season at the club, Hunt bounced back from two injury-hit seasons to make his AFL debut and become an integral part of the side.

Defender Neville Jetta, who is among this year’s AFL Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award contenders, duly received the Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy (Club Ambassador Award).

Aside from a fine season, Jetta has also been involved in a number of organisations, including the Red Cross, the Juvenile Justice Centre and the Melbourne Indigenous Transition School.

Former co-captain Jack Grimes gained the Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy as the best Melbourne-listed player in the VFL after an outstanding season with the Casey Scorpions.

Award winners at 2016 Melbourne best and fairest count

Norm Smith Memorial Trophy (Coaches Award): Max Gawn

Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy (Leadership Award): Jack Viney

Harold Ball Memorial Trophy (Best Young Player): Jayden Hunt

Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy (Club Ambassador Award): Neville Jetta

James McDonald Trophy (Heart and Spirit Award): Max Gawn

Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy (Best Melbourne-listed player in the VFL): Jack Grimes