YOUNG gun Jack Vineyhas won the Harold Ball Memorial Trophy as the club's best young player in2013.

Viney received theaward after impressing in his first season, despite missing eight matches,including seven with a toe injury.

His debut in roundone against Port Adelaide at the MCG was a highlight on an otherwise bleak dayfor the Demons.

Although he wassidelined from round eight and didn’t return until round 17, he produced some strong form latein the year, showing his wares for the future.

Viney also gained aNAB AFL Rising Star nomination following his strong performance againstFremantle in round 21.

Another outstandingprospect for the club, 18 year-old key forward Jesse Hogan, gained the TroyBroadbridge Memorial Trophy as the best Melbourne-listed player at Casey.

Although he wasineligible to play in the AFL this season – given Hogan was recruited as a 17 year-old via the minidraft –he impressed with 39 goals in the VFL, finishing fifth on the goalkicking tableafter the home and away season.

Defender ColinGarland, who finished runner up to Nathan Jones in this year’s Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy, also gained the Ron Barassi JnrTrophy (leadership award).

Midfielder/forwardColin Sylvia, who finished fifth in this year’s best and fairest, was rewarded with the Ian RidleyMemorial Trophy (club ambassador award).

Ruckman Jake Spencerended good mate Jordie McKenzie’s fine run of three coaches’ awards in a row to win the Norm Smith Memorial Trophy.

Nathan Jones alsocapped off his Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy win with the inaugural JamesMcDonald Trophy as the best team man.

Lynden Dunn andColin Garland were acknowledged for playing their 100th match eachthis season.

Dunn reached themilestone in round one against Port Adelaide, and Garland in round 22 againstAdelaide.

Jones and Garlandwere also presented with the match day ball for their milestone matches. 

Retirees AaronDavey, Joel Macdonald and David Rodan were also acknowledged for theircontributions to the club and the game.

Other award winners at 2013 Melbourne best and fairest

James McDonaldTrophy (best team man) – Nathan Jones

Harold Ball MemorialTrophy (best young player) – Jack Viney

Norm Smith MemorialTrophy (coaches award) – Jake Spencer

Ian Ridley MemorialTrophy (club ambassador award) – Colin Sylvia

Ron Barassi JnrTrophy (leadership award) – Colin Garland

Troy BroadbridgeMemorial Trophy winner (best Melbourne-listed player at Casey) – Jesse Hogan