DEMON trio Karen Paxman, Libby Birch and Kate Hore have been recognised for their outstanding seasons, selected in the 2020 AFL Women’s All Australian side.

Revealed on Monday evening, the star-studded line-up acknowledges the best individual performances in each position of the competition, with 21 players named in the final team.

After a most-impressive season in the red and blue, Paxman earned her fourth All Australian honour, while also being named captain of the side.

The selection means she is one of only two players to have made the team every year since its inception in 2017, with North Melbourne’s Emma Kearney being the other.

Paxman was an absolute standout for the Dees this season, finishing with an average of 21 disposals and an efficiency of 71 percent.

The 31-year-old continued her dominance in the middle, providing plenty of run, composure and opportunity, while developing in her second year as vice-captain.

Paxman was also named in the Team of the Year late last month and will be a top contender for the Dees’ Best and Fairest later this week.

Equally as influential in her efforts was Birch, who starred in her first season for Melbourne.

The former Bulldog was the Demons’ best lockdown defender in 2020, with her 12-disposal average and reliability resulting in her first All Australian nod.  

Named in the backline, Birch was also acknowledged in the Team of the Year, as well as the AFL Players’ Association 22Under22 side last week.

Birch wasn’t the only All Australian debutant, with Hore also attaining her first selection in the side.

The crafty forward was a force to be reckoned with inside 50 this season.

Hore finished with five majors, including a Round 6 snap that was awarded the Coates Hire Goal of the Year on Sunday, and averaged 13 disposals.

The 25-year-old was named on the interchange in the Team of the Year, but well and truly earns her spot in the All Australian forward pocket.

Twelve clubs were recognised in the final team, with Melbourne, North Melbourne and Carlton leading club representation (three players each).

The panel of selectors was comprised of Nicole Livingstone (Chair, AFL), Steve Hocking (AFL), Josh Vanderloo (AFL), Kelli Underwood (Fox Footy), Sarah Black (, Tim Harrington (AFLPA), Shelley Ware (media commentator) and Sharelle McMahon (media commentator).

2020 AFL Women’s All Australian Team

Sarah Allan (Adelaide)
Kate Lutkins (Brisbane)
Libby Birch (Melbourne)
Kerryn Harrington (Carlton)
Isabel Huntington (Western Bulldogs)

Emma Kearney (VC – North Melbourne)
Kiara Bowers (Fremantle)
Jaimee Lambert (Collingwood)
Sharni Layton (Collingwood)
Karen Paxman (C – Melbourne)
Madison Prespakis (Carlton)

Olivia Purcell (Geelong)
Gemma Houghton (Fremantle)
Jasmine Garner (North Melbourne)
Caitlin Greiser (St Kilda)
Kate Hore (Melbourne)

Kalinda Howarth (Gold Coast)
Alyce Parker (GWS)
Tayla Harris (Carlton)
Ash Riddell (North Melbourne)
Anne Hatchard (Adelaide)