MAX Gawn’s outstanding Queen’s Birthday performance against the Magpies has earned him eight votes towards the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year Award.

The ruckman put in a sensational performance in the 41-point loss, recording 33 hit-outs – 14 of which were to advantage – while amassing a career high 34 disposals.

Gawn was the only Melbourne player to poll in Round 12 and has now moved to seventh on the overall leaderboard approaching Melbourne’s bye round.

The remainder of the votes went Collingwood’s way with Adam Treloar leading with nine, while Jaidyn Stephenson (seven), Steele Sidebottom (four), Jeremy Howe (one) and Darcy Moore were also amongst the best.


9 Adam Treloar (COLL)
8 Max Gawn (MELB)
7 Jaidyn Stephenson (COLL)
4 Steele Sidebottom (COLL)
1 Jeremy Howe (COLL)
1 Darcy Moore (COLL)


69 Tim Kelly      
62 Patrick Cripps 
56 Ben Cunnington 
49 Brodie Grundy
48 Patrick Dangerfield  
47 Travis Boak 
46 Max Gawn
45 Nat Fyfe   
44 Marcus Bontempelli
44 Lachlan Neale