Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Davey wins his first Truscott Trophy

Aaron Davey was rewarded for an outstanding season

MELBOURNE'S Aaron Davey won his first Keith 'Bluey' Truscott Memorial Trophy on Wednesday night in front of a sell-out crowd at Crown.

Davey polled 82 votes to win Melbourne's best and fairest ahead of Brent Moloney (69) and Cameron Bruce (56).

Moloney won the Sid Anderson Memorial Trophy and Bruce, who claimed the best and fairest last year, received the Ron Barassi Snr Memorial Trophy for third place.

Matthew Bate, who came third in 2007, was awarded the Ivor Warne-Smith Memorial Trophy for finishing fourth with 47 votes.

Three players - Nathan Jones, Colin Sylvia and Matthew Warnock - polled 44 votes each to finish equal fifth for the Dick Taylor Memorial Trophy.

Davey, who finished third in 2005, produced his finest AFL season in 2009, which included career-best disposals (504) and tackles (90).

The win caps off a significant season for the 26-year-old, who signed a new four-year contract last month, keeping him in the red and blue until at least the end of 2013.

Despite recent speculation about his playing future, Davey said he always wanted to remain a Demon. 

"This is the club that's given me my opportunity and this is the club that I see myself playing my whole career at and I want to be a one club player," he said.

Originally drafted at No.3 in the 2004 Rookie Draft (held in December 2003), Davey shone in his first year for the Demons, playing 21 matches in 2004. 

He quickly impressed with his pace, agility and ability to apply defensive pressure inside forward 50, which has since become an integral part of the modern game. 

The Northern Territorian has featured in 119 AFL matches, and is now a genuine leader at Melbourne.

Davey said he had doubts about producing the form that netted him the award at the start of the season.

"After round one this year, I only had 11 disposals and I just thought it was going to be one of those years again, where I played as a small forward that was always up and down and played one good game and played poorly for the next two," Davey said.

"The trophy is obviously a great, great honour and the story behind it is all about a guy who not only played in a couple of premierships for the Melbourne Football Club, but sacrificed himself and also gave his country great service in the war."

Moloney played just 25 matches from 2006-08 with groin and shoulder injuries cutting him down.

The 25-year-old fought back strongly this year to become one of Melbourne's most reliable performers. 

Senior coach Dean Bailey and assistants Mark Williams, Josh Mahoney and Sean Wellman all awarded votes for the Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy.

At the conclusion of each round, the four coaches rated their best players with a score out of four.

There is no limit to the number of players who can receive votes. The maximum amount of votes a player can receive is 16 per round.

Other award winners were:
* Norm Smith Memorial Trophy (Coach's Award) - James Frawley
* Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy (Leadership Award) - Brent Moloney
* Harold Ball Memorial Trophy (Best First Year Player) - Liam Jurrah
* Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy (Club Ambassador Award) - Shane Valenti
* Heart and Soul Player Award - Aaron Davey
* Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy (highest votegetter by Melbourne listed player in Casey Scorpions best-and-fairest) - Shane Valenti

2009 Keith 'Bluey' Truscott Memorial Trophy results
1 - Aaron Davey (82)
2 - Brent Moloney (69)
3 - Cameron Bruce (56)
4 - Matthew Bate (47)
5 - Nathan Jones, Colin Sylvia, Matthew Warnock (44)
8 - James Frawley (43)
9 - James McDonald, Cale Morton (42)
11 - Brock McLean (41)
12 - Jared Rivers (39)
13 - Mark Jamar (30)
14 - Brad Green (29)
15 - Ricky Petterd (28)
16 - Jack Grimes (24)
17 - Liam Jurrah (21)
18 - Clint Bartram (20)
19 - Brad Miller (18)
20 - Paul Johnson (16)
21 - Jamie Bennell (15)
22 - Russell Robertson (14)
23 - Stef Martin (13)
24 - Lynden Dunn (12)
25 - Shane Valenti (11)
26 - Kyle Cheney, Neville Jetta (9)
28 - John Meesen (8)
29 - Matthew Whelan (6)
30 - Michael Newton, Jake Spencer (4)
32 - Addam Maric (3)
33 - Paul Wheatley (2)