STAR midfielder Christian Petracca has claimed his second Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy, taking home the honour at Melbourne’s Best and Fairest on Friday night. 

The 27-year-old was recognised for a stellar season in the red and blue, topping the count with 602 votes. 

Vice-captain Jack Viney (527 votes) received the Sid Anderson Memorial Trophy as runner-up, while defender Jake Lever (456 votes) took home the Ron Barassi Snr Memorial Trophy for a third-place finish. 

Petracca’s recognition follows another impressive year, where he embraced new responsibilities mixing between the midfield and forward line. The dual role saw him average 27.8 disposals and finish with 28 majors. 

The former No.2 draft pick matched it with the very best in the competition, tallying the third most disposals in the league (695 possessions – 350 of which were contested) while recording the most score involvements (210). 

It caps off a remarkable 2023 campaign, where he also earned his fourth All-Australian blazer and polled a career-high 26 Brownlow votes – the most of any Melbourne player in this year’s count. 

Senior coach Simon Goodwin congratulated the dominant midfielder, who claimed his first ‘Bluey’ in 2020, on his efforts. 

“For Christian to be awarded his second club Best and Fairest is fantastic reward for another consistent season,” Goodwin said. 

“Christian is a special player, and his commitment to improving his craft and the team is second to none. He works incredibly hard on his game, and is hyper focused on being the best player and teammate he can be. 

“This season saw Christian take on a different role, which he performed at an exceptional level, and this award is fitting recognition for an outstanding year.” 

Viney, often referred to as the heart and soul of the club, was recognised for another commanding season, having averaged 25 disposals, five clearances and five inside 50s in 2023.  

The much-loved Demon’s determination and leadership was on display across his 25 matches; he, too, polling a career-high 24 Brownlow votes, judged best afield on eight occasions. 

Lever was equally as important for the Dees in 2023, averaging 14 disposals at an efficiency of 85.5 percent. 

The 27-year-old tallied 200 intercept possessions, the second most in the competition, and with his on-field leadership, was a crucial member of Melbourne’s defence. 

Angus Brayshaw (453 votes) finished in fourth place, awarded the Ivor Warne Smith Memorial Trophy for another hard-fought year, with Steven May (451 votes) receiving the Dick Taylor Memorial Trophy to round out the top five. 

Brayshaw was further recognised on the night, receiving the Ron Barassi Jnr Memorial Trophy, a leadership award in honour of the late club great. 

Tom Sparrow was the recipient of the TRUE Player award for living the club’s values, while Trent Rivers was presented with the Coaches Award. Judd McVee and Jacob van Rooyen were equally recognised for their efforts, sharing the Best Young Player award, while Deakyn Smith was deemed the Best VFL Player.  

Ben Brown claimed the Club Ambassador Award for a third year running, in recognition of his work at community level. 

Melbourne also inducted 12 Life Members, including the retiring Michael Hibberd, on the night, and paid tribute to the life and legacy of Barassi Jnr.   

2023 Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy – Top 10 

Christian Petracca – 602 votes 

Jack Viney – 527 votes 

Jake Lever – 456 

Angus Brayshaw – 453 votes 

Steven May – 451 votes 

Alex Neal-Bullen – 450 votes 

Kysaiah Pickett – 444 votes 

Max Gawn – 426 votes 

Judd McVee – 424 votes 

Trent Rivers – 416 votes 

Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy – Best VFL Player 

Deakyn Smith 

James McDonald Trophy – TRUE player 

Tom Sparrow 

Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy – Club Ambassador Award 

Ben Brown 

Harold Ball Memorial Trophy – Best Young Player 

Judd McVee and Jacob van Rooyen 

Ron Barassi Jnr Memorial Trophy – Leadership Award 

Angus Brayshaw 

Norm Smith Memorial Trophy – Coaches Award 

Trent Rivers