MELBOURNE’S Kysaiah Pickett has been voted into the AFL Players’ Association’s (AFLPA) 22Under22 team.

This is the third time Pickett has featured in the final team, receiving acknowledgement in 2021 and 2022.

The 22Under22 team is a fan-voted concept created by the AFLPA to celebrate club stars aged 22 and under.  

Players are rewarded for their consistency across the year, with those selected required to have played 50 per cent of the season, equating to 12 matches.

While Pickett’s selection comes in the team’s forward line, this year has seen him embrace a new role within Melbourne’s midfield.

Known for his speed and agility, the 22-year-old’s energy has now been seen across the ground, his will to win the contest just another strength put to use.

This dual role hasn’t impacted his ability to impress inside 50, consistently providing awe-inspiring scores and kicking 33 goals across his 20 games this year.  

Pickett was selected in the extended squad earlier this month alongside teammates Jake Bowey, Jacob van Rooyen and Trent Rivers, but was the sole Demon to be voted into the final 22.

Within the voting system, Pickett was used in 80% of teams and was the fifth most popular player behind Nick Daicos, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Harry Sheezel and Luke Jackson.

Check out the full 22Under22 team below.

22Under22 2023 Team


Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera

Sam De Koning

Miles Bergman


Nick Daicos (C)

Hayden Young

Harry Sheezel


Errol Gulden

Caleb Serong

Will Ashcroft


Mitch Owens

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan

Cody Weightman


Kysaiah Pickett

Jye Amiss

Josh Rachele


Luke Jackson

Tom Green

Jai Newcombe (VC)


Bailey Smith

Chad Warner


Will Day

Noah Anderson


Captain: Nick Daicos
Vice Captain: Jai Newcombe