WHEN a new name joins an AFL club, with it comes much speculation about a certain number.

It’s not necessarily where they were taken in the draft, their height or an impressive stat, but rather the digits they’re set to wear on their back.

And with Melbourne welcoming four newbies to the club recently, it was time to dish out some fresh jumper numbers in preparation for season 2021.

The Demons shared news of their three AFL draftees’ numbers on social media last week, after they headed to Casey Fields and hit the track for the very first official training session.

In case you missed it, Jake Bowey, who was taken as Melbourne’s top pick in this year’s draft, will kick off his career in the No.17 guernsey.

The number was recently worn by Harley Bennell, who retired at season’s end, but is probably most associated with Brett Lovett – he donned it for 227 games across a 10-year period.

The Dees’ next selection on draft night will step into the No.16.

Bailey Laurie, who was recruited from the Oakleigh Chargers, will be keen to make the guernsey his own, with Andy Lovell, Travis Johnstone and Jack Grimes having worn it in years gone by. The jumper became vacant following Kade Kolodjashnij’s retirement last month.

Another eager to impress in his debut year is Fraser Rosman, who will pull on the No.19 guernsey.

The 194cm wingman receives the number following Mitch Hannan’s departure and will be keen to create plenty of memorable moments for the faithful in it.

And that leaves just one new Demon, Ben Brown.

Crossing from North Melbourne during the AFL Trade Period, the key forward has worn his favourite number throughout his junior, VFL and AFL career to date – and will continue to do so.

Brown will run out in the No.50 in 2021, in what will be the first time the number has been worn in four years.

Defender Neville Jetta was the last Melbourne player to wear it – he temporarily switched for a round in 2017 as part of an Indigenous recognition campaign – while Shane McSpeerin has played the most games in the guernsey (12 matches).

In addition to the new unveilings, there’s been one another change to the list, with Marty Hore taking a lower number.

The defender moves from No.34 to No.21 for next season, which was made available through Braydon Preuss’ exit.

Full AFL Player Number List:
1 – Steven May
2 – Nathan Jones
3 – Christian Salem
4 – James Harmes
5 – Christian Petracca
6 – Luke Jackson
7 – Jack Viney
8 – Jake Lever
9 – Charlie Spargo
10 – Angus Brayshaw
11 – Max Gawn
12 – Toby Bedford
13 – Clayton Oliver
14 – Michael Hibberd
15 – Ed Langdon
16 – Bailey Laurie
17 – Jake Bowey
18 – Jake Melksham
19 – Fraser Rosman
20 – Adam Tomlinson
21 – Marty Hore
22 – Aaron vandenBerg
23 – James Jordon
24 – Trent Rivers
25 – Tom McDonald
26 – Sam Weideman
27 – Aaron Nietschke
29 – Jayden Hunt
30 – Alex Neal-Bullen
31 – Bayley Fritsch
32 – Tom Sparrow
33 – Oskar Baker
35 – Harry Petty
36 – Kysaiah Pickett
37 – Kade Chandler
38 – Mitch Brown
39 – Neville Jetta
41 – Jay Lockhart
44 – Joel Smith
46 – Austin Bradtke
50 – Ben Brown