CHRISTIAN Petracca’s efforts in 2020 have continued to be rewarded with a second-place finish in the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Award.

With strong performances in the last two rounds of the home-and-away-season, the 24-year-old finished with a total of 78 votes, while Brisbane’s Lachie Neale took out the top prize (93 votes).

Petracca was deemed the equal-best player on the ground by the coaches in Round 17, collecting six votes alongside Steven May and GWS’ Brent Daniels.

The top two Demons managed 41 disposals, 13 intercepts and nine scoring involvements between them, while May also took eight marks.

Ed Langdon was recognised for his 23-disposal game (four votes) and Max Gawn was awarded one vote. GIANTS Josh Kelly (five votes) and Thomas Green (two votes) were acknowledged for their performances.

Petracca’s dominance continued in Melbourne’s final game of 2020.

The No.2 draft pick finished with 23 disposals, seven marks, six scoring involvements and a goal against Essendon, earning him a perfect 10 votes.

Bayley Fritsch was judged the next best player on the ground – he received eight votes for his three-goal effort – while skipper Gawn was awarded three votes.

May was again recognised for his impact down back (two votes). Jayden Hunt (two votes) and Mitch Brown (one vote) rounded out the top performers for the Dees, with Zach Merrett (four votes) the only Bomber to poll.

Votes: GWS GIANTS v Melbourne

6 – Christian Petracca (MELB)

6 – Steven May (MELB)

6 – Brent Daniels (GWS)

5 – Josh Kelly (GWS)

4 – Ed Langdon (MELB)

2 – Thomas Green (GWS)

1 – Max Gawn (MELB)

Votes: Essendon v Melbourne

10 – Christian Petracca (MELB)

8 – Bayley Fritsch (MELB)

4 – Zach Merrett (ESS)

3 – Max Gawn (MELB)

2 – Steven May (MELB)

2 – Jayden Hunt (MELB)

1 – Mitch Brown (MELB)

Votes: Final Leaderboard

93 – Lachie Neale (BRIS)

78 – Christian Petracca (MELB)

77 – Travis Boak (PORT)

72 – Jack Steele (STK)

60 – Taylor Adams (COLL)

59 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)

56 – Nic Naitanui (WCE)

55 – Zach Merrett (ESS)

48 – Cameron Guthrie (GEEL)

46 – Jack Macrae (WB)