FORWARD/midfielder Rory Taggert is in line to make his AFL debut in Melbourne’s last match of the season, after he was included in its 25 man squad for Sunday’s clash against the Western Bulldogs at Etihad Stadium.

Along with Taggert, the Demons have also included utility Rohan Bail, tall James Sellar, tough nut Neville Jetta and ruckman Max Gawn in their initial line up.

The five players have been named on the extended interchange, along with the nuggety Luke Tapscott and high-flyer Jeremy Howe.

As expected, livewire David Rodan will miss with a knee injury, and the versatile Cameron Pedersen has been left out of the side.

“David injured his knee late in the first quarter last weekend, after starting the game very well. His clearance work was exactly the reason he came to the club,” general manager of football operations Josh Mahoney told

If Taggert, who was drafted at No. 36 in the 2011 NAB AFL Draft, is chosen in the final 22, he will become the eighth Melbourne player to make their AFL debut this year, joining Matt Jones, Jimmy Toumpas, Jack Viney, Dean Terlich, Dean Kent, Mitch Clisby and Troy Davis.

He will also become the 13th player to represent Melbourne for the first time this year, given that Shannon Byrnes, Tom Gillies, Cameron Pedersen, Rodan and Chris Dawes made their AFL debuts at opposition clubs.

“Rory’s second half of the year has been a big improvement,” Mahoney said.

“He’s consistently playing good football at VFL level.”

Gawn, who has been an emergency the past three matches, has played 12 matches this season, with his most recent appearance coming against Greater Western Sydney in round 19.

Bail has featured in eight matches this year, with his most recent game coming against Hawthorn in round 10.

Sellar has made six appearances this season and Jetta four in 2013, with both not playing since round nine against Fremantle.

“The form of Max, Neville and James has been good at the Casey Scorpions over an extended period, and they’ve all deserved an opportunity to be included in the squad,” Mahoney said.

“Rohan was an emergency last week, and our carryover player for our game against Adelaide.”

The match will be 2009 best and fairest winner Aaron Davey’s last with the club, after an outstanding career. It will be his 178th game.

Round 23 Melbourne team
B: Lynden Dunn, James Frawley, Dean Terlich
HB: Jack Grimes, Tom McDonald, Colin Garland
C: Jack Viney, Jack Trengove, Jimmy Toumpas
HF: Matt Jones, Jack Watts, Colin Sylvia
F: Dean Kent, Chris Dawes, Aaron Davey
FOLL: Jake Spencer, Jordie McKenzie, Nathan Jones
I/C (from): James Sellar, Luke Tapscott, Max Gawn, Jeremy Howe, Neville Jetta, Rory Taggert, Rohan Bail
IN: Rohan Bail, James Sellar, Neville Jetta, Max Gawn, Rory Taggert
OUT: David Rodan (knee), Cameron Pedersen
NEW: Rory Taggert