KAREN Paxman’s impressive performance against Collingwood has earned her top votes in the AFL Coaches Association AFLW Champion Player of the Year award.

The Melbourne midfielder received a perfect 10 from the coaches, who award votes based on who they think are the top five players on the ground after each home-and-away match.

Paxman was the leading possession-getter in the Demons’ Round 4 win over the Pies at Marvel Stadium on Friday night, finishing with 24 disposals, five marks and three tackles.

Defender Libby Birch, who played a crucial role down back and collected 15 of her own disposals, received six votes, while forward Shelley Scott was awarded two votes for her 11 disposals and one goal.

Youngster Casey Sherriff (12 disposals) and midfielder Elise O’Dea (14 disposals) each polled one vote for their efforts.

Paxman now moves to equal-sixth on the leaderboard (22 votes), while Collingwood’s Jamiee Lambert sits on top with 38 votes.


Round 4 | Collingwood v Melbourne

10 – Karen Paxman (MELB)
8 – Jaimee Lambert (COLL)
6 – Libby Birch (MELB)
2 – Shelley Scott (MELB)
2 – Sharni Layton (MELB)
1 – Casey Sherriff (MELB)
1 – Elise O’Dea (MELB)

AFLW Leaderboard

38 – Jaimee Lambert (COLL)
27 – Kiara Bowers (FRE)
27 – Jasmine Garner (NMFC)
27 – Madison Prespakis (CARL)
24 – Emma Kearney (NMFC)
22 – Karen Paxman (MELB)
22 – Ebony Marinoff (ADEL)
22 – Jamie Stanton (GCFC)