MELBOURNE has named key forward Jesse Hogan for its third and final NAB Challenge clash against St Kilda at Etihad Stadium at 4.10pm on Sunday.

Hogan, who was rested last week, has been included in the 27-man squad, along with defenders Oscar McDonald and Dean Terlich.

But Melbourne has lost hard-nut Aaron vandenBerg (ankle) and key defender Lynden Dunn (groin) through injury.

Elite performance manager Dave Misson told Dee TV: “Aaron rolled his ankle in the third quarter [last weekend]. It was a little bit sore after the game but [it’s] nothing structural and there’s no serious damage there.”

“Lynden had a tight groin in the middle of the second quarter [last weekend] and it’s something that we didn’t really want to risk.

“He’s someone who really doesn’t miss training and plays high game minutes so we felt it’s an opportunity to unload him.”

Hogan played in Melbourne’s opening NAB Challenge match against Port Adelaide at Elizabeth, when the red and blue won by 19 points.

McDonald also played in the win over the Power, but was an emergency in Melbourne’s 12-point victory against the Western Bulldogs at Craigieburn last Sunday.

Terlich has been an emergency for Melbourne’s opening two NAB Challenge matches.

Melbourne’s clash against St Kilda will be the first of three encounters between the two sides at Docklands this year, with the other two matches to be played in round six and round 17. 

Melbourne squad

1. Jesse Hogan

2. Nathan Jones

3. Christian Salem

4. Jack Watts

7. Jack Viney

11. Max Gawn

12. Dom Tyson

13. Clayton Oliver

15. Billy Stretch

16. Dean Kent

17. Sam Frost

20. Colin Garland

21. Cameron Pedersen

22. Viv Michie

23. Bernie Vince

25. Tom McDonald

28. Oscar McDonald

29. Jayden Hunt

31. Jack Grimes

32. Tomas Bugg

35. Ben Kennedy

36. Jeff Garlett

39. Neville Jetta

42. Josh Wagner

43. James Harmes

45. Matt Jones

46. Dean Terlich