MELBOURNE has named an unchanged side for Saturday’s clash against the Western Bulldogs at Etihad Stadium.

The red and blue will field the same 22, which it did against Carlton, Adelaide Crows and now the Bulldogs.

The only difference this week is that Billy Stretch, Tom Bugg and Joel Smith have been named emergencies, instead of Jayden Hunt, Jeff Garlett and Dom Tyson.

Cam Pedersen remains an emergency.

Coach Simon Goodwin said it was a strong position for the team to be in – not altering the line-up.

“We’re really fortunate again to be unchanged for the second week in a row,” he told Melbourne Media.  

“The team is playing really selfless team roles and that’s enabled us to get consistency in the way we play and the way we select our side.”

Goodwin said he was rapt with his team’s 91-point win over the Adelaide Crows in Alice Springs last round, but he added that the challenges would continue against the Dogs.

“It was great to go up there and play a really exciting brand of footy and I thought we were really hard at the contest, and defended really strongly,” he said.

“It was a great result and we’re continuing to improve as a side.

“This week is another really important game against the Bulldogs … they’re a little underestimated on where they sit on the ladder.

“We feel like we’re in really good form and we’re looking forward to the challenge of a six-day break and we’ve had an opportunity to freshen our boys up and we’re looking forward to Saturday and putting our best foot forward.”

Round 11: Western Bulldogs v Melbourne
Saturday, June 2, 1.45pm AEST
Etihad Stadium (away)


B: Michael Hibberd, Oscar McDonald, Neville Jetta
HB: Angus Brayshaw, Jake Lever, Jordan Lewis
C: Bernie Vince, Jack Viney, Nathan Jones
HF: James Harmes, Jesse Hogan, Jake Melksham
F: Tim Smith, Tom McDonald, Christian Petracca
Foll: Max Gawn, Christian Salem, Clayton Oliver
I/C: Charlie Spargo, Mitch Hannan, Alex Neal-Bullen, Bayley Fritsch
Emg: Billy Stretch, Cameron Pedersen, Tom Bugg, Joel Smith
No change

Western Bulldogs

B: Matthew Suckling, Jackson Trengove, Ed Richards
HB: Bailey Williams, Dale Morris, Easton Wood
C: Jason Johannisen, Lachie Hunter, Patrick Lipinski
HF: Caleb Daniel, Josh Schache, Tory Dickson
F: Luke Dahlhaus, Marcus Bontempelli, Billy Gowers
Foll: Tom Boyd, Toby McLean, Jack Macrae
I/C: Hayden Crozier, Mitch Honeychurch, Jordan Roughead, Roarke Smith
Emg: Lewis Young, Tom Campbell, Lukas Webb, Lin Jong
In: Dale Morris, Mitch Honeychurch
Out: Zaine Cordy (injured), Bailey Dale (injured)