RISING Western Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli headlines an all-star team made up of young players picked in recent drafts.

To mark the 20th intake of the AFL's national academy, the League has named the NAB AFL Academy's '20 in 2020' team, comprising draftees from the past four Academy intakes.

The Academy's previous head coaches, current coach Brenton Sanderson and AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan made up the selection panel for the squad.

Selectors anticipate those picked will be among the leading players in the game in 2020.

Bontempelli was one of the first players chosen, with the 2013 No.4 draft pick enjoying a brilliant 2016 season that has seen him rocket into Brownlow Medal contention.

He is one of two Bulldogs in the team, with forward Jake Stringer – an All Australian last year in just his third AFL season – the other.

Greater Western Sydney has the best representation, with five of its players in the team.

The Giants' stranglehold on the top end of the draft in recent years is evident, with Lachie Whitfield, Josh Kelly and Stephen Coniglio all top-three picks and Jeremy Cameron and Nathan Wilson both 17-year-old pre-selection players who joined the club as part of its list concessions.

Fellow start-up club Gold Coast has two players (Jaeger O'Meara and Jack Martin), with Essendon (Darcy Parish and Joe Daniher), Melbourne (Jack Viney and Jesse Hogan) and the Sydney Swans (Callum Mills and Isaac Heeney) the other clubs with multiple selections.

Jake Lever (Adelaide), Nick Vlastuin (Richmond), Jacob Weitering (Carlton), Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide) and Brodie Grundy (Collingwood) are the sole representatives from their teams.

The selectors also picked a '20 in 20' super team featuring the best of the best Academy graduates over the 20 intakes. That team will be announced on AFL.com.au next Wednesday, August 24. 


DEFENDERS: Nick Vlastuin (Rich), Jake Lever (Adel), Nathan Wilson (GWS), Callum Mills (Syd), Jacob Weitering (Carl), Jack Martin (GC)
MIDFIELDERS: Marcus Bontempelli (WB), Lachie Whitfield (GWS), Jaeger O'Meara (GC), Ollie Wines (PA), Jack Viney (Melb), Brodie Grundy (Coll)
FORWARDS: Jake Stringer (WB), Jeremy Cameron (GWS), Isaac Heeney (Syd), Josh Kelly (GWS), Jesse Hogan (Melb), Joe Daniher (Ess) 
I/C: Darcy Parish (Ess), Stephen Coniglio (GWS)