STAR Melbourne midfielder Clayton Oliver has added to his stellar 2021 campaign, finishing third in the 2021 Brownlow Medal.  

The 24-year-old received 31 votes for his efforts this season, the highest vote tally of any Melbourne player in the club's history within the 3-2-1 system. 

Oliver finished behind Port Adelaide’s Ollie Wines (36 votes) and the Western Bulldogs’ Marcus Bontempelli (33 votes).

Wines became his club’s first winner of the league’s highest honour, capping off a standout year.

For Oliver, his impact was recognised across 13 games, in a season where he continued his dominance in the middle.

The Demons’ No.13 topped the competition in contested possessions (388) and total clearances (167) throughout the home-and-away season while averaging 31.6 disposals (fifth highest in the league).

The recognition adds to an impressive list of achievements so far this year, where he received both the AFL Coaches Association’s Champion Player of the Year Award and All-Australian honours.

Teammate Christian Petracca, who has been equally influential to his side’s success this season, was the next best Demon with 23 votes.

The 25-year-old finished in equal-ninth place after averaging 28.8 disposals and kicking 27 goals across the regular fixture.

Skipper Max Gawn rounded out the top performers, collecting 16 votes to finish in equal 17th position, while Tom McDonald (eight votes) and Jake Lever (five votes) were also recognised.

Forward Bayley Fritsch, NAB AFL Rising Star Luke Jackson and hard-nut Jack Viney all clocked up three votes each, with Kysaiah Pickett (two votes) and Steven May (one vote) the other two players to add to Melbourne's tally of 96 votes.

It marked the highest ever total recorded by the Demons, with Oliver and Petracca both setting new personal bests.

2021 Brownlow Medal Final Leaderboard

1st Ollie Wines (PORT) – 36 votes
2nd Marcus Bontempelli (WB) – 33 votes
3rd Clayton Oliver (MELB) – 31 votes
4th Sam Walsh (CARL) – 30 votes
= 5th Darcy Parish (ESS) – 26 votes
= 5th Jack Steele (STK) – 26 votes

Melbourne's 2021 Brownlow Medal Final Leaderboard

3rd Clayton Oliver – 31 votes
= 9th Christian Petracca – 23 votes
= 17th Max Gawn – 16 votes
= 40th Tom McDonald – 8 votes
= 68th Jake Lever – 5 votes
= 98th Bayley Fritsch – 3 votes
= 98th Luke Jackson – 3 votes
= 98th Jack Viney – 3 votes
= 132nd Kysaiah Pickett – 2 votes
= 160th Steven May – 1 vote
= 160th Christian Salem - 1 vote