Main content
Melbourne Football Club

AFLW: O'Dea best afield in AFLCA votes

AFLW | Post-match Elise O'dea Ben Gibson from Melbourne Media speaks to co-captain Elise O'dea after an impressive day out on the park

ELISE O’Dea’s standout performance against Collingwood has earned her top votes in the AFL Coaches Association AFLW Champion Player of the Year award.

The Melbourne co-captain received a perfect 10 from the coaches, who award votes based on who they think are the top five players on the ground after each home-and-away match.

O’Dea was the leading possession-getter in the Demons’ Round 2 win over the Pies at Victoria Park on Saturday, finishing with 26 disposals, five tackles and a goal in a dominant display.

Lauren Pearce, who collected 16 of her own disposals and kicked a goal, received six votes, while the midfield duo in Lily Mithen (three votes) and Karen Paxman (two votes) added to their tallies.

After kicking her first goal of the AFLW competition and gathering 11 touches in just her second game, youngster Tyla Hanks also polled one vote.

O’Dea now moves to equal-fifth on the leaderboard (12 votes), while Western Bulldogs’ Ellie Blackburn sits on top with 17 votes.


Round 2: Collingwood v Melbourne

10 – Elise O’Dea (MELB)
8 – Ashleigh Brazill (COLL)
6 – Lauren Pearce (MELB)
3 – Lily Mithen (MELB)
2 – Karen Paxman (MELB)
1 – Tyla Hanks (MELB)

AFLW Leaderboard

17 – Ellie Blackburn (WBD)
15 – Ashleigh Brazill (COLL)
14 – Ally Anderson (BL)
14 – Dana Hooker (FRE)
12 – Jasmine Garner (NMFC)
12 – Elise O’Dea (MELB)