Main content
Melbourne Football Club

No change for semi-final clash

Simon's Selection: Semi Final Simon Goodwin talks us through this weeks team against Hawthorn

MELBOURNE will go into Friday night’s semi-final clash against Hawthorn at the MCG unchanged.

The Demons have named the 22, plus the same four emergencies – Jay Kennedy Harris, Jayden Hunt, Tim Smith and Joel Smith – that gained a 29-point win in the first elimination final win over Geelong Cats at the MCG last Friday night.

Coach Simon Goodwin said it was hard to change a winning line-up.

“This week, we go into the game unchanged,” he said.

“The guys put in a terrific performance and everyone contributed in their roles and what they wanted to do, so it gives us great confidence to put the same 22.”

Goodwin said last Friday night’s first elimination final win over Geelong Cats at the MCG was an outstanding result for the club, but added that there was plenty of work to do this Friday night.

“It was an incredible match last week – and the supporters [were great with more than] 91,000 there and [it was great] to see the MCC, the way it was,” he said.

“For the players to play with that intensity, desire, will and want in the game was unbelievable. I’m sure they put on a performance that [our supporters] were proud of.

“It’s a huge test against the Hawks. We’ve got huge respect for them and they’ve been a club that’s had great character over many years now and we certainly know they’re going to respond.

“But our boys are in really good shape and we feel like our game style and our system and our players are performing their roles incredibly well, so we’re looking forward to it and looking forward to inspiring you guys (the Melbourne supporters) again and seeing you all at the game.”

Melbourne team: first semi-final

B: Neville Jetta, Oscar McDonald, Jordan Lewis
HB: Christian Salem, Sam Frost, Michael Hibberd
C: Dom Tyson, Jack Viney, James Harmes
HF: Jake Melksham, Tom McDonald, Angus Brayshaw
F: Sam Weideman, Aaron vandenBerg, Alex Neal-Bullen
Foll: Max Gawn, Nathan Jones, Clayton Oliver
I/C: Christian Petracca, Charlie Spargo, Mitch Hannan, Bayley Fritsch

Emg: Jay Kennedy Harris, Jayden Hunt, Tim Smith, Joel Smith

No change