Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Jones goes back-to-back in B&F

VICE captain Nathan Jones has narrowly edged out backman Colin Garland to win his second consecutive Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy at Crown on Thursday night. 

Jones won the award with 365 votes to claim the club best and fairest ahead of Garland (360), who claimed the Sid Anderson Memorial Trophy. 

Defender Dean Terlich (306) and midfielder Matt Jones (303) completed outstanding first up seasons, to gain the Ron Barassi Snr Memorial Trophy (third) and Ivor Warne-Smith Memorial Trophy (fourth) respectively. 

Midfielder/forward Colin Sylvia capped off an impressive season to win the Dick Taylor Memorial Trophy in fifth position.

Rounding out the top 10 were defender Lynden Dunn, big man James Frawley, co captain Jack Trengove, high flyer Jeremy Howe and youngster Tom McDonald. 

Jones, 25, had an outstanding year, winning 500-plus disposals for the third consecutive season. He amassed 509 in 2013, after a career best 516 last year and 507 in 2011. It was a fine effort by Jones, who received much attention from opposition teams this year.

He has become the eighth player to win consecutive best and fairest awards at the club, although Allan La Fontaine achieved it twice in 1935-36 and 1941-42.

Jones also became the first Demon to win successive Truscott Memorial Trophies since James McDonald in 2006-07. 

The midfielder became the 18th player to win multiple best and fairests at Melbourne. La Fontaine and Jim Stynes (1991 and 1995-96-97), who have won four each, hold the club record.

Remarkably, Jones is the only current listed player to have won the Truscott Memorial Trophy. 

It was also the third time Jones has finished in the top three, after finishing runner up in just his second season in 2007.

Jones’ big night also included the inaugural James McDonald Trophy as the Best Team Man. 

Garland also gained the Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy (leadership award), Sylvia won the Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy (club ambassador award) and Jake Spencer received the Norm Smith Memorial Trophy (coaches’ award).

The Harold Ball Memorial Trophy for the best young player went to Jack Viney and emerging forward Jesse Hogan picked up the Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy winner for the best Melbourne-listed player at Casey. 

Retirees Aaron Davey, Joel Macdonald and David Rodan were also acknowledged for their contribution. 

Past winners Noel McMahen, Geoff McGivern, Brian Dixon, Ron Barassi, Hassa Mann, Ray Groom, Rob Flower, Garry Baker, Steven Smith, Greg Healy, Steven O’Dwyer, Todd Viney and Aaron Davey were in attendance. 

2013 Melbourne best and fairest results

Winner: Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy – Nathan Jones (365 votes)

After winning his first Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy in 2012, Jones deservedly went back-to-back. The incredibly durable midfielder was Melbourne’s most consistent player in 2013. 

Second: Sid Anderson Memorial Trophy – Colin Garland (360)

The defender capped off his best AFL season as a close runner-up to Jones. He passed the 100-game milestone and proved a model of consistency, often under pressure down back. 

Third: Ron Barassi Snr Memorial Trophy – Dean Terlich (306)

The mature defender was of the bright spots of the year, playing all but two matches in his first season. It was an outstanding return to the AFL system, after he was a Sydney Swans rookie in 2008. 

Fourth: Ivor Warne-Smith Memorial Trophy – Matt Jones (303)

Like Terlich, Jones was one of 2013’s good news stories. The 25 year-old midfielder took his opportunity, playing every game after being picked at No. 52 in last year’s NAB AFL Draft. 

Fifth: Dick Taylor Memorial Trophy – Colin Sylvia (288)

Aside from missing three matches through suspension, Sylvia produced a very consistent season. It was the third time he has finished fifth in the best and fairest award, after his efforts in 2009-10.

Sixth: Lynden Dunn (270)

A hamstring injury interrupted the defender’s start, but he bounced back to play every match from round six. Dunn was one of Melbourne’s best players in the second half of the season. It was his highest finish in the club’s best and fairest. 

Seventh: James Frawley (268)

The leader missed five games for the season – on two separate occasions with a hamstring injury – but again gave his all down back, often under pressure. It was the fifth consecutive time Frawley has finished in the top 10.

Eighth: Jack Trengove (257)

A foot stress fracture last December rocked the second half of Trengove’s pre-season, but the co-captain fought back to play some good football and all but two matches in 2013. 

Ninth: Jeremy Howe (256)

Howe’s first half of the season was especially good. He missed just one match with a calf injury in round 20 and again dazzled the football fraternity with his majestic aerial skills – as highlighted in the final round against the Bulldogs. 

Tenth: Tom McDonald (249)

After finishing third in last year’s count, an ankle and shoulder injury forced McDonald to miss five games in the first half of the season. But the defender bounced back with a solid latter part of the year. 

11 – Jack Watts (238)

12 – Aaron Davey (209)

13 – Jack Grimes (202)

14 – Jack Viney (199)

15 – Shannon Byrnes (191)

16 – Jordie McKenzie (172)

17 – Dean Kent, Luke Tapscott (159)

19 – Chris Dawes (147)

20 – Jimmy Toumpas (143)

21 – Max Gawn (133)

22 – Mitch Clisby (120)

23 – Jack Fitzpatrick, Jake Spencer (117)

25 – Michael Evans (116)

26 – Daniel Nicholson, Cam Pedersen (108)

28 – Mark Jamar (103)

29 – David Rodan (93)

30 – Rohan Bail (77)

31 – Sam Blease (71)

32 – James Sellar (58)

33 – James Strauss (58)

34 – Neville Jetta (48)

35 – Mitch Clark (41)

36 – James Magner (26)

37 – Troy Davis (21)

38 – Tom Gillies (16)

39 – Joel Macdonald (11)

Voting system explained:

At the completion of each game, the match committee consisting of the senior coach (Mark Neeld/Neil Craig), plus assistant coaches Jade Rawlings, Brian Royal and Leigh Brown voted using a one to seven ranking system. Seven was the highest a player could receive and one was the lowest. Each player had the opportunity to gain a maximum of 28 votes in each game.