Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Two added to permission to train squad

Melbourne has added two new players – Ben Jakobi (Coburg) and Daniel Nicholson (Uni Blues) – to its permission to train squad in the lead-up to the December 7 N
MELBOURNE has added Ben Jakobi (Coburg) and Daniel Nicholson (Uni Blues) to its permission to train squad in the lead-up to the December 7 NAB AFL Rookie Draft.
They join Corey Buchan (Dandenong Stingrays),Corey Cassidy (Oakleigh Chargers),Brad Harvey (Eastern Ranges), Paul Johnson (Melbourne),Cameron Johnston (Geelong Falcons), Alex McLeod (Calder Cannons) and Tom McNamara (Melbourne), who have been training with the club since the NAB AFL Draft was held on November 18.
Melbourne has already filled its senior list and will not participate in the NAB AFL Pre-Season, which will be held before the Rookie Draft on the same day.
Versatile tall Michael Newton has been retained for a second year on Melbourne’s rookie list, but another six players will be added onto the club’s list for 2011.
This will bring Melbourne’s list to 46, which includes 38 senior listed players and one veteran - Brad Green.
No guarantees have been given to any of the players training with the Demons. 
The AFL released the full list of players training with AFL clubs on Tuesday.
Players training with AFL clubs (players underlined are recent additions)
Adelaide - Ian Callinan (Central Districts)
Brisbane Lions - Albert Proud (Brisbane Lions), Broc McCauley (Brisbane Lions), Bart McCulloch (Brisbane Lions)
Carlton - Rhys O'Keeffe (Carlton)
Collingwood - Paul Cribbin (County Kildare, Ireland) 
Essendon - Ryan Brabazon (Claremont), Ben Duscher (Bendigo Bombers), Jonathan Giles (Sturt), Josh Jenkins (Lake Boga), Pierce Liddle (Bendigo Bombers), Chris Molitor (West Adelaide), Jay Neagle (Essendon), Tim Northe (Gippsland Power), Nathan Rayner (Woodville West Torrens), Trent Shinners (Bendigo Bombers), Tyson Slattery (Essendon), Rhys Sporn (West Adelaide)
Fremantle - John Anthony (Collingwood), Jarrad Blight (Collingwood), Ben Bucovaz (Fremantle), Michael Evans (Collingwood), Sam Menagola (East Fremantle), Justin Monaco (East Fremantle), Brock O'Brien (Fremantle), Matthew Rankine (West Adelaide), Gavin Roberts (Norwood), Tim Ruffles (Fremantle) 
Geelong Cats Luke Dahlhaus (Geelong Falcons), John Simkin (Geelong VFL), Josh Walker (Geelong Falcons)
Gold Coast Suns - Nathan Ablett (Geelong Cats / Broadbeach), Jake Crawford (Pamona), Cameron Pederson (Box Hill), Joel Tippett (Brisbane Lions / Southport)
Hawthorn - Cameron Bruce (Melbourne), Travis Tuck (Hawthorn)
Melbourne - Corey Buchan (Dandenong Stingrays),Corey Cassidy (Oakleigh Chargers),Brad Harvey (Eastern Ranges), Ben Jakobi (Coburg), Paul Johnson (Melbourne),Cameron Johnston (Geelong Falcons),Alex McLeod (Calder Cannons), Tom McNamara (Melbourne), Daniel Nicholson (Uni Blues)
North Melbourne - Steve Clifton (North Ballarat), Kyle Hartigan (Werribee), Derick Micallef (North Ballarat), Matthew O’Dwyer (Sydney Swans), Scott Sherlock (Werribee), Myles Sewell (North Ballarat)
Port Adelaide - Jonathon Beech (West Adelaide), Sam Gray (Port Adelaide Magpies), Callum Hay (North Adelaide), Tom Jonas (Port Adelaide), Terry Milera (Port Adelaide Magpies), Thomas Schneider (Oakleigh Chargers)
Richmond - Jayke Barrack (Coburg), Ben Clifton (Coburg), Andy Duhau (Coburg),Brendan Fewster (Coburg),Tom Hislop (Richmond),Bachar Houli (Essendon),Justin Kahlefedt (Coburg), Tom Lucin (Coburg), Brad Miller (Melbourne)
St Kilda - George Burbury (Hobart), Robert Eddy (St Kilda), Fraser Russell (Geelong Falcons)
Sydney Swans - Eugene Krueger (East Coast Eagles), Garry Moss (Hawthorn)
West Coast - Tim Houlihan (West Coast), Blayne Wilson (Peel Thunder)
Western Bulldogs - Ed Barlow (Sydney Swans), Mitchell Hahn (Western Bulldogs), Daniel Hughes (Melbourne)