TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Latest DEE TV

Episode 27: Inside Melbourne

11:54am  Sep 20, 2018

Media Conference: Clayton Oliver

6:04pm  Sep 19, 2018

Jon Meets Harmes

5:16pm  Sep 19, 2018

Five in a row for Darebin  September 25, 2017 12:00 PM

DAREBIN claimed back-to-back VFL Women’s premierships with a narrow seven-point victory over Diamond Creek at Etihad Stadium on Sunday.

Darebin 5.5 (35) defeated Diamond Creek 4.4 (28) to secure its fifth consecutive flag.

After leading by 20 points at the last break, the Falcons withstood a late charge from Diamond Creek who kicked three of the game’s last four majors.

Melbourne had a strong a presence in the clash with Melissa Hickey, Elise O’Dea, Karen Paxman, Daisy Pearce and Lauren Pearce all victorious for the Falcons, while Laura Duryea represented Diamond Creek.

Winning Darebin coach Jane Lange is also a new member of Melbourne’s AFLW coaching panel.

Paxman, who finished second in Melbourne’s Best and Fairest count, was named best-on-ground.

DIAMOND CREEK      0.2      0.2      2.2      4.4 (28)

DAREBIN                2.1     2.3     4.4     5.5 (35)


Diamond Creek: Abbatangelo 2, Molloy, Loynes

Darebin: Brennan 2, McDonald, Marinoff, D.Pearce