TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest DEE TV

Rd 14: Simon's Selection

6:19pm  Jun 21, 2018

Inside Melbourne: Episode 14

8:50am  Jun 21, 2018

Injury Report: David Misson

4:11pm  Jun 19, 2018

Simon Goodwin: Media Conference

3:23pm  Jun 19, 2018

Young guns make 22Under22 team  September 13, 2017 9:34 AM

TWO of Melbourne's brightest young stars have been selected in the 2017 AFLPA 22Under22 team.

Clayton Oliver and Jayden Hunt were both named in the fan-voted side that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 or under.

Oliver took his game to another level in 2017 to finish his second season with an average of 30 disposals, 6.9 tackles and 6.6 clearances per game, and ranking fifth in total disposals.

Hunt, who's first two seasons were marred by injuries, has emerged as an integral member of the team since making his AFL debut against Collingwood in round four last year.

2017 is 22Under22’s fifth year since its inception and is the only recognised AFL award voted by the fans.

Western Bulldogs superstar Marcus Bontempelli was named captain of the side with Essendon midfielder Zach Merrett the team's vice-captain. 

The initial squad of 40 players, selected by the AFL Players' Assocation's Board, also included fellow Melbourne young guns Christian Petracca and Oscar McDonald

22under22 Team

B: Andrew McGrath (Ess). Harris Andrews (Bris). Callum Mills (Syd)
HB: Jayden Hunt (Mel). Jake Lever (Adel). Ryan Burton (Haw)
C: Marcus Bontempelli (WB). Clayton Oliver (Mel). Josh Kelly (GWS)
HF: Jack Billing (St K). Charlie Curnow (Carl). Jack Martin (GC)
F: Orazio Fantasia (Ess). Eric Hipwood (Bris). Tom Papley (Syd)
FOLL: Peter Wright (GC), Zach Merrett (Ess). Matt Crouch (Adel)
I/C: James Sicily (Haw), Isaac Heeney (Syd), Ollie Wines (PA), Daniel Rioli (Rich)