Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Five added to squad for Sydney clash

Hunt is in the mix to play his first game since round seven

MELBOURNE has added five players to its squad for Sunday’s clash against the Sydney Swans at the MCG on Sunday.

The Demons have named Dean Kent, Mitch Hannan, Cameron Pedersen, Sam Weideman and Jayden Hunt in their squad of 26.

The only player out of the side at this stage is defender Joel Smith, who is sidelined for the next three to four weeks with a broken collarbone, which he sustained against the Gold Coast Suns at the MCG last Sunday.

Kent, Hannan, Pedersen, Weideman and Hunt have been named on the extended bench, along with Bernie Vince, Jay Kennedy Harris and Alex Neal-Bullen.

Kent will be aiming to play his fourth match of the season – and his first since round five against Richmond at the MCG – after being sidelined for nine weeks with a hamstring injury. He has been back playing in the VFL since the round 15 equivalent in the AFL.

Hannan returned to the VFL last weekend, after missing rounds 18 and 19 with a knee injury. If he plays, it will be his 12th appearance for the season.

Pedersen has been in red hot form at Casey, and has shone in defence in recent times. He will be looking to play his fourth game of the year.

Weideman has played five games this year and will be aiming to play his first match since round 15 against St Kilda at the MCG.

And Hunt, who was sidelined from rounds 14 to 18 with an ankle injury, is back in contention to play, after playing for Casey last round and being an emergency for Melbourne last weekend.

Melbourne will be aiming for its first win against the Swans since round 17, 2010 – back when the late Dean Bailey was coach, and Paul Roos was at the helm of Sydney.

The red and blue drew with the Swans in the opening round of 2011 at the MCG, but have lost its past six matches.

If the Demons win this match, it will notch up their 13th win of the season – and not only further enhance their finals prospects but increase their top four chances.

Melbourne squad: round 21

B: Neville Jetta, Oscar McDonald, Jordan Lewis
HB: Christian Salem, Sam Frost, James Harmes
C: Dom Tyson, Clayton Oliver, Angus Brayshaw
HF: Charlie Spargo, Jesse Hogan, Aaron vandenBerg
F: Jeff Garlett, Tom McDonald, Bayley Fritsch
Foll: Max Gawn, Nathan Jones, Christian Petracca
I/C (from): Dean Kent, Mitch Hannan, Cameron Pedersen, Bernie Vince, Jay Kennedy Harris, Sam Weideman, Jayden Hunt, Alex Neal-Bullen

In: Kent, Hannan, Pedersen, Weideman, Hunt
Out: J.Smith (collarbone)