Main content
Melbourne Football Club

AFLW draft order revealed

EXPANSION club Geelong will have the first two picks in this year's NAB AFL Women's Draft, plus a further two at the top of the second round.

North Melbourne, which came away from last week's expansion club signing period with a 17-player haul, will have the last selection in each round.

The AFL granted the concession picks to the Cats – who came away from the expansion signing period with 13 players – to enable them to match North's haul.

Foundation clubs that lost players to the Roos and Cats have also been allocated compensation picks for the draft, likely to be held in mid-October.

Collingwood will pick at the start of the second round, Western Bulldogs at the start of the third round, Melbourne at the start of the fourth round, and Carlton at the start of the fifth round. Brisbane has been allocated two extra spots for its rookie list, while Greater Western Sydney has been given one extra rookie spot.

In allocating extra picks, the AFL said it had made its decisions based on factors including collective value of players lost and whether the loss of players would damage a club enough to compromise competitive balance.

"As part of this process, AFLW lists were profiled when establishing the agreed four-tier payment model. The combined loss of players for each club then provided an indication of the total impact of the expansion signing period and foundation clubs are to be compensated relative to the total value of players they have lost," the AFL said in a statement.

"In doing so, the AFL reserves the right to alter the 2018 draft selection order or take any other approach to maintain competitive balance throughout the expansion process."

The sign and trade period runs from May 23-June 4.

Selection order for the 2018 NAB AFL Women's Draft

Geelong Cats (compensation pick)
2 Geelong Cats (compensation pick)
3 Carlton
4 Fremantle
5 Collingwood
6 Adelaide
7 GWS Giants
8 Melbourne
9 Brisbane Lions
10 Western Bulldogs
11 Geelong Cats
12 North Melbourne

13 Collingwood (compensation pick)
14 Geelong Cats (compensation pick)
15 Geelong Cats (compensation pick)
16 Carlton
17 Fremantle
18 Collingwood
19 Adelaide
20 GWS Giants
21 Melbourne
22 Brisbane Lions
23 Western Bulldogs
24 Geelong Cats
25 North Melbourne

26 Western Bulldogs (compensation pick)
27 Carlton
28 Fremantle
29 Collingwood
30 Adelaide
31 GWS Giants
32 Melbourne
33 Brisbane Lions
34 Western Bulldogs
35 Geelong Cats
36 North Melbourne

37 Melbourne (compensation pick)
38 Carlton
39 Fremantle
40 Collingwood
41 Adelaide
42 GWS Giants
43 Melbourne
44 Brisbane Lions
45 Western Bulldogs
46 Geelong Cats
47 North Melbourne

48 Carlton (compensation pick)
49 Carlton
50 Fremantle
51 Collingwood
52 Adelaide
53 GWS Giants
54 Melbourne
55 Brisbane Lions
56 Western Bulldogs
57 Geelong Cats
58 North Melbourne