Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Clarry cleans up at best and fairest


CLAYTON Oliver has cleaned up at this year’s best and fairest count, not only winning this year’s Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy, but also taking out the Harold Ball Memorial Trophy and James McDonald Trophy.

Oliver received the Ball Memorial Trophy for the club’s best young player and the McDonald Trophy for the heart and spirit award.

It was an outstanding night for the 20-year-old, who has played just 35 games.

Popular defender Neville Jetta, who was named in the All-Australian squad of 40 and finished fifth in Melbourne’s best and fairest award, also claimed two awards.

He won the Norm Smith Memorial Trophy (Coaches’ Award) and the Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy (Club Ambassador Award).

For Jetta, it was the third consecutive season he has won the Ridley Memorial Trophy – an outstanding achievement, given his commitment and dedication to the community.

It was also the second-time Jetta has claimed the Smith Memorial Trophy, having won it in 2014.

Co-captain Jack Viney, who finished runner-up to Oliver in this year’s best and fariest, claimed the Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy (Leadership Award) for the second successive year.

Former co-captain Jack Trengove received the Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy award for the most votes polled by a Melbourne-listed player in this year’s Casey Demons best and fairest.

He also polled the most votes overall to win this year’s Casey best and fairest – the Gardner-Clark Medal.

2017 other award winners

Best VFL Player: Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy – Jack Trengove
Broadbridge played 40 games for Melbourne from 1999-2004, with his last game the 2004 elimination final. He tragically lost his life during the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami in Thailand.

  • Presented by Justin Plapp for the most votes attained by a Melbourne-listed player in the Casey Demons Best and Fairest

Club Ambassador Award: Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy – Neville Jetta
A five-time premiership player (1955-57 and 1959-60), Ridley was regarded as one of the best players of his era. A tenacious rover, he later coached the club and became president.

  • Presented by Shannon Byrnes for work in the community
  • Positively representing the club
  • Embracing the extra responsibility placed on them as an AFL player
  • Going over and above

Best Young Player: Harold Ball Memorial Trophy – Clayton Oliver
Ball played in Melbourne’s 1939-40 premierships, before losing his life during World War II. In his first year, he was named Melbourne’s best first year player. The award was named in his honour in 1946.

  • Presented by Matthew Egan for the best young talent

Heart and Spirit Award: James McDonald Trophy – Clayton Oliver
First awarded in 2013, McDonald captained the club from 2009-2010 and was a dual best and fairest winner in 2006-07. A much-admired figure, he played 251 games from 1997-2010.

  • Presented by Ben Mathews for sacrificing self for the greater good of the team
  • Having a never say die attitude
  • For consistent commitment and performance on match day and at training
  • Having cared for teammates on and off the field
  • Having a fierce determination and work rate
  • Being courageous on and off the field in their willingness to speak up for the good of the team

Leadership Award: Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy – Jack Viney
One of Australian football’s greatest figures, Barassi played in six Melbourne premierships (1955-56-57, 1959-60 and 1964) and was regarded as one of the greatest and most determined players to play the game.

  • Presented by Troy Chaplin for sacrificing self for the greater good of the team
  • For influence on the group
  • Character/behaviour
  • Actions
  • Accountability

Coaches’ Award: Norm Smith Memorial Trophy – Neville Jetta
Named VFL/AFL team of the century coach, Smith played in three Melbourne premierships (1939-41), before coaching the club to six flags (1955-57, 1959-60 and 1964). A legend of the game.

  • Presented by Jade Rawlings for representing the qualities of work ethic and preparation
  • Providing a minimum standard of performance
  • Someone you can trust and rely on