Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Melbourne’s 2016 fixture announced

GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 21: Nathan Jones of the Demons celebrates after the 2015 AFL round twelve match between the Geelong Cats and the Melbourne Demons at Simonds Stadium, Geelong on June 21, 2015. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)
GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 21: Nathan Jones of the Demons celebrates after the 2015 AFL round twelve match between the Geelong Cats and the Melbourne Demons at Simonds Stadium, Geelong on June 21, 2015. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)

TWELVE matches at the MCG, including an Anzac Day eve clash and the traditional Queen’s Birthday game are among the highlights from Melbourne’s 2016 home and away fixture.

Chief executive Peter Jackson said “from a supporter perspective it’s a good fixture”.

“We play eight of the first 12 games at the MCG and from a football point of view we have no back-to-back six-day breaks, which is pleasing,” he told

“Securing the Anzac Eve match against the Tigers on a Sunday Night is a good result for both clubs.

“If we are to be true to the concept of honouring the night before the Anzac landing and if our supporters want to own a significant time slot on the AFL calendar, like Anzac Eve, then we must respect the opportunity we have been given and make Sunday night work.”

Melbourne will open next year’s campaign against Greater Western Sydney at the MCG on Saturday, March 26 – the first of four matches at the ‘G in the opening five rounds. The Demons will also play another four out of five games at the MCG from rounds eight to 12.

In fact, nine of Melbourne’s first 14 matches will be played at the MCG, including the second successive Anzac Day eve clash against Richmond at the ‘G in round five and Melbourne’s Queen’s Birthday game at the home of football  in round 12.

But from rounds 16 to 23, the Demons will play just three matches at the MCG.

The Demons have the bye in round 14.

Overall, Melbourne will play 15 games in Victoria (including two matches at Etihad Stadium and one in Simonds Stadium) and seven outside of Victoria, including every major state and territory of Australia, except the Australian Capital Territory. But across 2015-16, Melbourne will have played in every major state and territory, given it played GWS at StarTrack Oval in round two this year.

The Demons will again play two home games in the Northern Territory, including Port Adelaide at TIO Traeger Park in round 10 (the inaugural Sir Doug Nicholls Round) and against Fremantle at TIO Stadium in round 16.  

First the first time, Melbourne will play a match in Tasmania for premiership points, when it takes on North Melbourne at Blundstone Arena (Bellerive Oval, Hobart) in round three.

The Demons will also play their first home and away match in Queensland since round 20, 2013, when they take on the Gold Coast Suns at Metricon Stadium in round seven.

Melbourne will also return to the SCG for the first time since round eight, 2012, when it plays the Sydney Swans in round 13.

The other two matches outside of Victoria are against the West Coast Eagles at Domain Stadium in round 18 and Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval in round 21.

The Dees will play five sides twice: Collingwood (rounds four and 12), St Kilda (rounds six and 17), Gold Coast Suns (rounds seven and 19), Port Adelaide (rounds 10 and 21) and Hawthorn (rounds 11 and 20).

Reigning premier Hawthorn is the only top eight side Melbourne plays twice next year. It will be the first time the Demons have played the Hawks twice in a season since 2011.

Similar to this year, Melbourne will have to wait until almost the end of the season to play Carlton. The Demons took on the Blues at the MCG in round 21 this year, but will have to wait until round 22 in 2016.

And the Demons won’t face the Geelong Cats for the first time until round 23 – the final round of the season, which is again a floating fixture. The match will again be played at Simonds Stadium – the scene of Melbourne’s finest victory in 2015.

Melbourne will play just three top eight teams from 2015 in its opening 10 rounds: North Melbourne (round three), Richmond (round five) and Western Bulldogs (round eight).

But from rounds 11 to 20, the Demons will play 2015 finallists Hawthorn (twice), Sydney Swans (round 13), Adelaide Crows (round 15), Fremantle (round 16) and West Coast Eagles (round 18).

In terms of timeslots, Melbourne plays 16 day matches, two twilight games and three night fixtures. Round 23 is TBC.

A further breakdown sees the Demons play 10 matches on Saturday (six afternoon, two twilight and two night), 10 on Sunday (five early, four afternoon and one night) and one afternoon game on Monday.

The Dees haven’t been given a Friday night game for 2016.

Foxtel will televise 14 Melbourne matches next year and Seven will show seven games. Round 23 will be confirmed closer to the date.

In regards to some club membership details, Melbourne will have two replacement games for its two Northern Territory matches.

All Melbourne members will be able to attend these replacement games.

Details of those two replacement matches – based in Melbourne – will be announced in the coming weeks.

You can add our 2016 fixture to your calendar here

2016 Melbourne home and away fixture

1 Saturday, March 26 - GWS GIANTS - MCG Home 1.40pm Foxtel 

2 Saturday, April 2 - Essendon - MCG Away 2.10pm Foxtel 

3 Sunday, April 10 - North Melbourne - Blundstone Arena Away 1.10pm Foxtel 

4 Sunday, April 17 - Collingwood - MCG Away 3.20pm Seven 

5 Sunday, April 24 - Richmond - MCG Home 7.10pm Seven 

6 Saturday, April 30 - St Kilda - Etihad Stadium Home 1.45pm Seven 

7 Saturday, May 7 - Gold Coast SUNS - Metricon Stadium Away 5.10pm Foxtel 

8 Sunday, May 15 - Western Bulldogs - MCG Home 3.20pm Seven 

9 Sunday, May 22 - Brisbane Lions - MCG Home 1.10pm Foxtel 

10 Saturday, May 28 - Port Adelaide - TIO Traeger Park Home 1.40pm Foxtel 

11 Saturday, June 4 - Hawthorn - MCG Away 1.45pm Seven 

12 Monday, June 13 - Collingwood - MCG Home 3.20pm Seven 

13 Sunday, June 19 - Sydney Swans - SCG Away 1.10pm Foxtel 

14 Bye 

15 Sunday, July 3 - Adelaide Crows - MCG Home 3.20pm Foxtel 

16 Saturday, July 9 - Fremantle - TIO Stadium Home 7.10pm Foxtel 

17 Sunday, July 17 - St Kilda - Etihad Stadium Away 3.20pm Seven 

18 Saturday, July 23 - West Coast Eagles - Domain Stadium Away 2.35pm Foxtel 

19 Sunday, July 31 - Gold Coast SUNS - MCG Home 1.10pm Foxtel 

20 Saturday, August 6 - Hawthorn - MCG Home 2.10pm Foxtel 

21 Saturday, August 13 - Port Adelaide - Adelaide Oval Away 7.10pm Foxtel 

22 Sunday, August 21 - Carlton - MCG Away 1.10pm Foxtel 

23 TBC - Geelong Cats - Simonds Stadium Away TBC TBC