Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Pearce wins best female player award

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 16: Daisy Pearce of the Demons in action during the 2015 AFL Womens match between the Western Bulldogs and the Melbourne Demons at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne, Australia on August 16, 2015. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media)
Daisy Pearce has won the inaugural Best Female Player Award

MELBOURNE women’s team captain Daisy Pearce has won the inaugural Best Female Player Award at the club’s best and fairest.

Pearce received the award after standout performances in both AFL Women’s Exhibition Matches in 2015.

She received five of a possible six votes to win the award ahead of Kara Donnellan (three), Ebony-Rose Antonio (two), Kiara Bowers (one) and Chelsea Randall (one).

The skipper turned in a strong midfield performance in the first game against the Western Bulldogs, collecting 23 possessions, including 13 contested, to be among Melbourne’s best three players on the day.

Fellow midfielder Donnellan earned the three votes for her best-afield performance, which included 23 disposals, 14 contested possessions and four tackles.

But it was in the second game where Pearce really made her mark.

Playing as an inside midfielder, the Melbourne captain racked up 31 possessions, including 16 contested, at 87 per cent efficiency, and seven clearances in a clear best-on-ground performance.

The midfielder’s form was crucial to the side securing a four-point win in the closest women’s game yet and the skipper was rewarded with the full three votes, allowing her to secure the award.

Melbourne’s women’s team has won all four of its games against the Western Bulldogs to date.

Pearce was the number one draft pick in the inaugural AFL Women’s Draft in 2013 and had previously been named best on ground in the first AFL Women’s Exhibition Game that year.

The voting process for the Best Female Player Award is a 3-2-1 points system, as is used in the Brownlow Medal.

Best Female Player Award
Winner: Daisy Pearce (5 votes)
Second: Kara Donnellan (3 votes)
Third: Ebony-Rose Antonio (2 votes)
Fourth: Kiara Bowers, Chelsea Randall (1 vote)

Votes: Game One
3 votes: Kara Donnellan
2 votes: Daisy Pearce
1 vote: Kiara Bowers

Votes: Game Two
3 votes: Daisy Pearce
2 votes: Ebony-Rose Antonio
1 vote: Chelsea Randall