Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Viney wins best young player award

YOUNG gun Jack Viney has won the Harold Ball Memorial Trophy as the club's best young player in 2013.

Viney received the award after impressing in his first season, despite missing eight matches, including seven with a toe injury.

His debut in round one against Port Adelaide at the MCG was a highlight on an otherwise bleak day for the Demons.

Although he was sidelined from round eight and didn’t return until round 17, he produced some strong form late in the year, showing his wares for the future.

Viney also gained a NAB AFL Rising Star nomination following his strong performance against Fremantle in round 21.

Another outstanding prospect for the club, 18 year-old key forward Jesse Hogan, gained the Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy as the best Melbourne-listed player at Casey.

Although he was ineligible to play in the AFL this season – given Hogan was recruited as a 17 year-old via the mini draft – he impressed with 39 goals in the VFL, finishing fifth on the goalkicking table after the home and away season.

Defender Colin Garland, who finished runner up to Nathan Jones in this year’s Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy, also gained the Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy (leadership award).

Midfielder/forward Colin Sylvia, who finished fifth in this year’s best and fairest, was rewarded with the Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy (club ambassador award).

Ruckman Jake Spencer ended good mate Jordie McKenzie’s fine run of three coaches’ awards in a row to win the Norm Smith Memorial Trophy.

Nathan Jones also capped off his Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy win with the inaugural James McDonald Trophy as the best team man.

Lynden Dunn and Colin Garland were acknowledged for playing their 100th match each this season.

Dunn reached the milestone in round one against Port Adelaide, and Garland in round 22 against Adelaide.

Jones and Garland were also presented with the match day ball for their milestone matches. 

Retirees Aaron Davey, Joel Macdonald and David Rodan were also acknowledged for their contributions to the club and the game.

Other award winners at 2013 Melbourne best and fairest

James McDonald Trophy (best team man) – Nathan Jones

Harold Ball Memorial Trophy (best young player) – Jack Viney

Norm Smith Memorial Trophy (coaches award) – Jake Spencer

Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy (club ambassador award) – Colin Sylvia

Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy (leadership award) – Colin Garland

Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy winner (best Melbourne-listed player at Casey) – Jesse Hogan