TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Latest DEE TV

Media Conference: Tom McDonald

11:00am  Sep 22, 2018

Melbourne Train at Optus Stadium

10:44am  Sep 22, 2018

Media Conference: Jake Melksham

5:00pm  Sep 21, 2018

Media Conference: Michael Hibberd

2:43pm  Sep 21, 2018

Best and Fairest live stream  October 9, 2017 3:29 PM

2017 Best and Fairest live stream

The Best and Fairest will be streamed live from Crown Palladium on Monday, October 9 from 7.30pm (AEDT)

Can't watch the stream on mobile? Click here to view the Live Event

THE Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy will be streamed live from Crown Palladium on Monday, October 9 from 7.30pm (AEDT) on

To watch the event, press play on the video player above from 7:30pm (AEDT).

Click here to watch the live stream

Following the event and in the days after, you can watch the speeches, highlights and the red carpet special on

7.40pm - Event begins with MC's welcome, and Welcome to Country by Aunty Joy
7.50pm - Presentation of 2017 team 
7.57pm - Address from Chairman Glen Bartlett
8.05pm – Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy
8.10pm – Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy  
8.15pm – Harold Ball Memorial Trophy
8.20pm - Round 1 – 8 video
8.23pm - Main meal break.
9.00pm - Round 9 – 14 video
9.04pm - AFLW B&F
9.10pm - James McDonald Trophy
9.15pm - Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy
9.20pm - Norm Smith Memorial Trophy
9.30pm - Milestones
9.40pm – Dessert Break
10.10pm - Rounds 15-23 video
10.12pm - Simon Goodwin Address
10.20pm – Top 5 Awards
Approx 11pm Event Close

The awards

Winner: Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy
A larger than life figure, Truscott played in Melbourne’s 1939-40 premierships and was an ace fighter pilot in World War II. ‘Bluey’ died in an air accident in Western Australia, 1943. He received two Distinguished Flying Crosses. Melbourne coach Frank ‘Checker’ Hughes named the best and fairest in his honour.

Second: Sid Anderson Memorial Trophy
An RAAF navigator, Anderson played for Melbourne from 1939-41 and was a member of the club’s hat-trick of flags in the same years. He lost his life in the air over New Guinea in 1944.

Third: Ron Barassi Snr Memorial Trophy
A member of Melbourne’s 1940 premiership side, Barassi Snr was tragically killed at Tobruk. He was the father of Ron Barassi Jnr, who became a legend of the game.

Fourth: Ivor Warne-Smith Memorial Trophy
The first player to become a dual Brownlow Medallist (1926 and 1928), Warne-Smith was a dominant player of his era. A Gallipoli veteran, he also served in World War II.

Fifth: Dick Taylor Memorial Trophy
Taylor played in Melbourne’s 1926 premiership and was once regarded as one of the finest players in his day. Ran second in the 1927 Brownlow Medal. He played 164 games from 1922-31 and 1935. He later served on the committee. 

Best VFL Player: Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy
Broadbridge played 40 games for Melbourne from 1999-2004, with his last game the 2004 elimination final. He tragically lost his life during the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami in Thailand.

Club Ambassador Award: Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy
A five-time premiership player (1955-57 and 1959-60), Ridley was regarded as one of the best players of his era. A tenacious rover, he later coached the club and became president.

Best Young Player: Harold Ball Memorial Trophy
Ball played in Melbourne’s 1939-40 premierships, before losing his life during World War II. In his first year, he was named Melbourne’s best first year player. The award was named in his honour in 1946.

Heart and Spirit Award: James McDonald Trophy
First awarded in 2013, McDonald captained the club from 2009-2010 and was a dual best and fairest winner in 2006-07. A much-admired figure, he played 251 games from 1997-2010.

Leadership Award: Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy
One of Australian football’s greatest figures, Barassi played in six Melbourne premierships (1955-56-57, 1959-60 and 1964) and was regarded as one of the greatest and most determined players to play the game.

Coaches’ Award: Norm Smith Memorial Trophy
Named VFL/AFL team of the century coach, Smith played in three Melbourne premierships (1939-41), before coaching the club to six flags (1955-57, 1959-60 and 1964). A legend of the game.