TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest DEE TV

Rd 14: Simon's Selection

6:19pm  Jun 21, 2018

Inside Melbourne: Episode 14

8:50am  Jun 21, 2018

Injury Report: David Misson

4:11pm  Jun 19, 2018

Simon Goodwin: Media Conference

3:23pm  Jun 19, 2018

The full list of free agents for 2017

Nick Bowen  September 6, 2017 9:59 AM

TOM ROCKLIFF, Steven Motlop, Jackson Trengove and Daniel Menzel are the most enticing targets left in this year's shrinking free agency pool. 

The 2017 list of free agents lost its biggest fish last week when Brownlow Medal favourite Dustin Martin recommitted to Richmond, but the pool had already been weakened by the re-signings of players such as Fremantle captain Nat Fyfe, Hawk forward Luke Breust, Sydney spearhead Sam Reid and Essendon midfielder David Zaharakis.

Uncontracted pair Josh Kelly (GWS) and Jake Lever (Adelaide) are now this year's most sought-after recruits despite being ineligible for free agency. 

However, there are still decent catches left in the free agency pool, chiefly Rockliff, Motlop, Menzel and Trengove.

Former Lions captain Rockliff has already been linked to Adelaide, while Port swingman Trengove is being courted by clubs led by the Western Bulldogs.

Geelong pair Motlop and Menzel are also on the radar of rival clubs, with uncertainty surrounding their futures at Simonds Stadium given the Cats' keen interest in Giant Devon Smith and Sun née Cats favourite son Gary Ablett.

Adelaide tall Andy Otten's impressive return to senior football in 2017 and ability to play at both ends of the ground also makes him an attractive prospect.

Collingwood trio Tyson Goldsack, Josh Thomas and Lachie Keeffe are all expected to re-sign, as are Fremantle's Hayden Ballantyne and Michael Johnson.

Mark LeCras, Kade Simpson and North Melbourne's Scott Thompson are among this year's veterans whose futures are yet to be decided.

2017's remaining free agents

Andy Otten 

Brisbane Lions
Claye Beams
Ryan Harwood
Tom Rockliff 

Kade Simpson
Simon White 

Tyson Goldsack
Lachlan Keeffe
Ben Sinclair
Josh Thomas

Heath Hocking
Ben Howlett 

Hayden Ballantyne
Zac Clarke
Michael Johnson
Nick Suban 

Josh Cowan
Daniel Menzel
Steven Motlop 

Taylor Duryea 

Jake Spencer
Jack Trengove 

North Melbourne
Scott Thompson 

Port Adelaide
Jackson Trengove 

West Coast
Mark LeCras
Eric Mackenzie