Main content

Latest DEE TV

Anzac Jumper

3:30pm  Apr 19, 2018

Media Conference: Max Gawn

9:48am  Apr 19, 2018

Inside Melbourne: Episode 6

6:39pm  Apr 18, 2018

Injury Report: David Misson

3:14pm  Apr 17, 2018

Hunt nominated for goal of the year  July 17, 2017 11:27 AM

JAYDEN Hunt's massive 60-plus metre torpedo against Adelaide Crows at TIO Stadium on Saturday night has been nominted for the round 17 Coates Hire Goal of the Year n

The nominations are as follows:

  • Lance Franklin (Sydney Swans)
  • Jayden Hunt (Melbourne)
  • Steve Johnson (GWS GIANTS)

Fans can now view and vote for their favourite goal at

AFL fans will be given the chance to vote for their favourite goal each week in order to go into the running  to win one of two official AFL Sherrin footballs each week and the major cash prize of $5000 at the end of the season, thanks to Coates Hire and the AFL.

Weekly nominees will be selected by the AFL Media editorial team and the weekly winners will be determined by public voting.

Voting opens 12pm each round the day after the last game and will close the night before commencement of the next round (exact days of the week may change depending on fixture).

At the conclusion of the home and away season, the AFL’s All-Australian Selection Committee will select the best three goals from a selection of 28 (the 23 weekly winners, along with five other contenders as determined by the AFL Media footy expert selectors). The best three will be based on a 5/4/3/2/1 vote given by each member of the selection committee.

The top three selections for the Coates Hire Goal of the Year will be placed on on September 4. The overall winners will be selected by public voting which will close on September 14.

The Coates Hire Goal of the Year will be announced at the 2017 Brownlow Medal Ceremony.