Main content
Melbourne Football Club

Women's All Australian team announced

Daisy Pearce

THE AFL NATIONAL Women’s Championships have drawn to a close, with the Victorian team taking out the Grand Final honours.

Victoria led comfortably all day before sealing Western Australia’s fate with the final siren seeing Victoria 7.8.50 defeating Western Australia 1.7.30.

Melbourne footballer and number 25 draft pick, Courtney Gum received the prestigious Debbie Lee Medal for the best and fairest player for the tournament and number 17 draft pick for Melbourne, Jasmine Garner was awarded the Leading Goal Kicker award for totalling 13 goals.

The championships concluded with the announcement of the All Australian side, which featured several Melbourne players, highlighted below:


B: Fiona Boucher (WA), Megan Hutchins (Vic), Heather Anderson (ACT)

HB: Kara Dollellan (WA), Kirby Bentley (WA), Karen Paxman (Vic)

C: Rheanne Lugg (WA), Daisy Pearce (Vic), Stephanie Chiocci (Vic)

HF: Shelley Matcham (WA), Katie Brennan (Vic), Karina Demant (ACT)

F: Aasta O’Connor (Vic), Chelsea Randall (WA), Ellie Blackburn (Vic)

Rucks: Louise Wotton (Vic), Emma Kearney (Vic), Dana Hooker (WA)

Inter: Countney Gum (NSW), Kate Lutkins (Qld), Michelle Reid (SA),

Number one draft pick and captain for Melbourne, Daisy Pearce, said that the talent displayed by women at the championships was exciting for the future of women’s football.

The first AFL women’s game will be played on Saturday 29 June at 5.10 pm as a curtain raiser for the Melbourne vs Bulldogs game at the MCG. Tickets which allow entry to both the women’s and men’s games can be pre-purchased here.